Fall & Winter Descend

When I meet people who are not from Nevada and I tell them I am from Nevada, they will often ask how I deal with the heat in Las Vegas. Like many native Nevadans, I end up explaining that Las Vegas is in the very southern tip of the state, and there are thousands of square miles north of Las Vegas. Really. Not everyone from Nevada is from Vegas.

The Nevada I call home is high desert. We have four seasons here with snow every winter.

I live at 5000 ft. at the base of the Ruby Mountains in the northeast corner of the state. These are the mountains that the Hastings cutoff skirted. Rather than following the California trail along the Humboldt River to the north, the Donner party went around the south and inadvertently added several hundred miles to their journey. Bad idea.

I took these pictures from my front yard over the past month as the changing colors slowly descended the slopes. I’ve always enjoyed watching, so this year, I decided to record it.

photo(10)
The Rubies in August (with my son getting ready for his fall archery hunt).
Sept. 23, 2013
Sept. 23, 2013 – the top of the canyons are brushed with yellow patches as the leaves begin to change color.
October 7, 2013
October 7, 2013 – Two weeks later, the trees have almost completely changed their colors.
October 10, 2013
October 10, 2013 – the first dusting of snow on the peaks. Ruby Dome, to the right of the pyramid peak, is the tallest point in the mountain range with an elevation of 11,388.
Oct. 15, 2013
October 15, 2013 – The leaves are dropping and the mountain tops are whiter.
Oct. 19, 2013
October 19, 2013
Oct. 29
Oct. 29 – Winter arrives. We woke to heavy wet snow.
Oct. 29, 2013
Oct. 29 – The weather here can make a person crazy. Blizzard at 7:00 am…beautiful sun shining on the snowy mountains at 5:05 pm of the same day.
Oct. 29 2013
Oct. 29 – the same day, 20 min. later, clouds are moving in again across the mountains. Winter is here, and the leaves are gone.

Happy Halloween!

10 thoughts on “Fall & Winter Descend

  1. Happy Nevada Day !!!….. It is going to be 77 degrees here in San Luis Obispo, CA…. but I do love the fall and winter of our Sierra Nevada’s……. Great Picture Amy !!!

    Like

    1. Happy Nevada Day to you too! I wish it was going to be 77 here – we FROZE yesterday at H’s soccer game. We’re playing Lowry today, and I don’t think it will be any warmer.

      Like

    1. I’m not sure which season is my favorite, other than I know its not winter! Fall is lovely though. It was kind of fun to record the leaves changing. I watch it every year, but it sort of surprised me how fast it happened.

      Like

    1. Haha! Some of my strongest memories of Halloween are being so upset because we had to cover our great costumes with giant winter jackets to go trick or treating. We, of course, never wanted to wear coats and our parents always made us.

      Like

    1. Me too! The mountains are so beautiful. I look at them every day and sometimes I think I take that view for granted. It was fun to stop and pay attention to them as I took these shots when I got home from work in the afternoons.

      Like

What do you think?

