My Summer Quilt

Yes, I know its almost Halloween, a little belated to be posting my “summer” quilt, but I did actually complete a quilt this summer.

Last winter, I got inspired to use up some of my fabric stash. I pulled out stacks of fabrics and cut out all the strips and rectangles for two different quilts. One of them is still a pile of now dusty strips on the end of my sewing table. The other one is actually done!

Seeing as I’m a teacher . . . on vacation in the summer . . . I probably should have gotten both of these quilts done, but I didn’t. The one I did finish took awhile though.

The pattern is the “Cobblestone” quilt from the book Scrappy Firework Quilts by Edyta Sitar. It’s a great collection of patterns for scrappy traditional quilts.

I chose to do it in brights and it ended up not looking like a cobblestone street, but more like some sort of digital matrix. This was a fun project to play with the fabrics and work with their values rather than their colors. I’m not super happy with how the middle left side turned out. It kind of mushes together, but I didn’t realize that until it was all sewed together. I wasn’t about to pull it out to add some more darks to it.

My Matrix Quilt
My Matrix Quilt

I’m not going to put a border on it, as I like how it looks as is, and it’s not getting quilted anytime soon either. I have no more beds for the quilt tops I’ve made, so its going into a tub under my bed until I have a home for it. I’ve learned that when you live in a small house like I do, unquilted quilts are easier to store than quilted ones.

6 thoughts on “My Summer Quilt

  1. What a great use of all those strips and pieces we all have laying around – it’s beautiful! When I finished my grandson’s “French Braid in blues,” I had lots of strips left over. I’m now using them to make small, folded log cabin blocks but don’t know yet what I’ll do with them. Isn’t fun to just create?

    Like

    1. Thank you Donna! It was a fun quilt to just play with the fabric. I thought it would make a dent in my scraps – ha! It didn’t!
      Folded log cabins sound really interesting. I’ll have to look at that. I’ve got tons of random strips of leftovers.

      Like

    1. It is cool how it does that. It’s so different from the one in the book that it kind of surprised me. But then again, I guess that’s part of the fun of creating.

      Like

What do you think?

