Home » Blogging » Blog Break

Blog Break

Ah . . . summer vacation, a time of lazy days sipping lemonade in a hammock with a good book . . . or not.  Maybe that’s what summer looks like for some people, but not this girl!

I just got back from Forensics Nationals, a super fun but not so relaxing week traveling with another coach and nine teenagers. Needless to say, sleep was somewhat elusive, and despite the best of intentions, I didn’t touch my blog.

Instead, I thought about my blog, a lot, and I’ve come to the conclusion, that I am going to be taking a break from my regular two posts a week. I started this blog and enforced a Monday, Thursday posting schedule with myself so that I would write. No matter what, I would sit my ass down in a chair and try to write something that maybe someone, somewhere would read. It didn’t always happen, but it did more often than not.

Over the past year, I have learned a few things:

  1. I found that I liked it – it was really fun to write, to push myself to think of something to write about. I feel like I found my voice in some ways.
  2. People actually read what I have to say – that, to me, is amazing!
  3. Sharing my writing at first was incredibly scary, but I got over that.
  4. Holding myself to a schedule that forced me to write was important to building my skills and confidence, but even if I don’t write every single day, I discovered I can pick up where I left off. Almost every single “writer” book, says to write everyday at the same time. Perhaps in some sort of dream world that doesn’t include kids, a husband, work, coaching, etc. that might happen, but my writing life is much more fluid than that and that’s okay! I managed to blog and finish a novel using my own process.

With those lessons in mind, I’ve decided to take a blog break. I’ll be posting, well, when I feel like it! I have not decided if I will pick my regular schedule back up this fall or not. I think I’ll decide when school starts.

In the meantime, I will be: revising my novel so that maybe someday people will be able to read that, taking a class to keep my teaching credential up to date, hopefully launching a website for teen writers, and maybe fitting in a quilt or two this summer. I’ll let you know how it goes.

10 thoughts on “Blog Break

  1. Ahhhh, I remember well my school days – teaching, counseling, administrating, and finally leading as principal. In my teaching days, I enjoyed the wonders of summer vacation. In my counseling days I had a shorter vacation with a work week tacked on at either end. In my administrative days, I enjoyed a month of summer and, as principal, I enjoyed two to three weeks, if I was lucky.

    Now, as a retired person, I enjoy life year-round. Even though the weather here is seldom summer weather (only in August, to be honest), every day feels like summer vacation because I can decide each day what I want to do – AND – the kids are grown, the grandkids launched…you know…

    My blog is new since May and I did not set a schedule for myself. I like the results you talk about from doing so, however, so I think I will try it when we return from a trip around the 4th of July.

    I am so proud of all the things you do and are a part of – what a great role model for your kids, the home ones and the school ones both.

    Do you Pinterest? One of the quotations I posted on one of my boards has to do with laundry and how the mountains of it weigh you down at one point in your life but are often “missed” at another. So true for many of the child-raising and working years – many of the biggest burdens are recalled with fondness when they’re gone.

    So keep it all up. It will pay off in so many ways and you, too, will reach a time in your life when you have nothing but time. I look forward to hearing from you again in the fall. Happy summer!

  2. Well I will miss you and your posts Amy, but I think you are amazing to have kept up the 2 a week blogging for this long, and written a novel, and done all the other amazing things you do! If I had half your energy…! So I wish you well for your ‘break’ and look forward to reading the novel one day, and welcoming you back after summer (or my winter!). Go well.

    • Thanks Shanee. I appreciate you reading them! I LOVED the last poem you posted. I’ve saved that one on my phone and have gone back to it a couple of times.

  3. The next stage – that’s a positive move Amy, I’m looking forward too to spending more time with my novel and getting it out there, I’ve never committed to a schedule for the blog, which ultimately for me is writing about reading (or a little about writing when pushed into it by another blogger) – but the result is similar, in that its prompted me to pursue with more vigour my manuscript and make more time for it, so I’ve changed some things in my work life to accomodate that.

    I will continue to follow your progress and send you all the best writing vibes to get that amazing story out there, don’t ever give up, the first one is the learning curve, its the path to where you are heading. Bonne Courage!

    • Thanks for your encouragement Claire. Your blog is amazing because its not scheduled but you read so much!! I’m always a little blown away when I get another of your book reviews because it means you finished another book.

      I still plan on posting, just not quite as much, more on a schedule like yours (or probably less).

      • Thanks Amy, I do love to read, though rarely manage to before 9pm, but carry it with me during the day along with my notebook just in case. I like to write about books because its an activity I make time for and its a complement to writing.

        The blog is amazing though because I was never as motivated when writing for a printed publication with little or no feedback, engaging with an audience makes all the difference. I’m definitely more of the school of thought that the post/an idea comes to mind and then must be written than the date arrives and a post must be written/forced, the former carries more of an energy and enthusiasm that attracts, the latter is a similar to a job.

        Just carry that little notebook with you for ideas and write about them as they happen so you capture the magic :)

      • After sticking to a schedule and struggling at some points to come up with ideas, I think I agree with you, but I’ll “test” it this summer and see what I think at the end of it. I just need to keep a notebook. You’re definitely right about that. I had a great idea for a post yesterday, didn’t get it recorded and can’t remember for the life of me what it was today.

  4. If anyone deserves a break it is you. Not only teaching and coaching teenagers, but also completing your first draft of your novel. I enjoyed reading your posts, and look forward to learning about your teen writing site. Keep us posted when you are jumping back in. Until then, enjoy your summer!

    • Thanks! I will definitely still be posting occasionally, just when it strikes me to. I don’t want to feel any guilt about not posting, so I’m just alleviating the pressure.

  5. Hi Amy. I’m also slowing down on my blog posts for a while. When I have something compelling to say and an equally compelling reason for saying it, I will share it with passion. Otherwise, I need time away from the computer to fuel the passion.

What do you think?

