Folk Art Applique

One benefit of living in rural America is that when my kids have sporting events, we don’t just jump in the car for a 20 minute drive down the road. Nope, that would be too easy. We book a hotel, load up the truck and head four or five hours down the freeway. My daughter ran in the regional track meet this past weekend (with the idea of regional being relative), so we spent about eight hours in the car to watch her run in two races, a grand total of four and a half minutes.

Why is this a benefit of living in rural America you might be asking? Its a benefit because I actually get to sit and do things like: talk to my husband, read a book, or as the case this past weekend, pick up a quilt project from last summer and do some handwork.

The tips of my fingers hurt and are filled with little holes since I forgot a thimble, but I actually finished the center applique panel of a quilt. A miracle might happen this week, and I just might finish the whole thing.

When I first started, I wanted to create an applique with a folk art feel.  I couldn’t decide on the traditional solid black background or the dotted one, but I ultimately decided on the polka dot. It’s much more fun.

           

I meant to take pics of the progress, but that was really difficult to do in the truck, and I’ll be honest, I forgot to. I’ve done lots of applique, but I think this is one of my favorites. The pattern is a modification of one that I found in Elly Sienkiewicz’s book Applique 12 Easy Ways. It’s great resource for any type of applique you might be interested in.

Here’s the final block.  I used scrap fabric for the flowers and hearts and I like how it adds to the folk art feel of it.  I also decided not to use the bright orange I had originally picked out for the flowers. Instead I used a dark read on the big flower and didn’t use any solid on the smaller flowers. It was getting too busy.

It’s been a fun project, even though its taken months to finish.  Now I just need to figure out what I’m going to work on this weekend, since its back across the state for another race.

8 thoughts on “Folk Art Applique

  1. The block is beautiful – so colorful and, yes, very folk artsy. What size is it? Will you add it to something else or add to it or use it alone?

    I understand why you don’t mind those long road trips. We, too, used to trek all over when our youngest son raced motorcycles – motocross. And, like you, I always took along a book and a project for those long hours in between races. He is 48 now, so it was a long time ago, but I still treasure that talk-time, watching Love Boat on the hotel TV before we went to sleep, and the strong bond that developed and still exists.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! It’s a smaller square that will go in the center of a larger piece. I have most of it put together, just not quite done. Sadly, I need my machine to finish it, so I can’t finish it on the road this weekend.

      I love your recollections of traveling with your son. They are good times for sure!

      Like

  2. Love it! I like the background…the black brings the colors to life and the dots give it some playfullness. Almost makes me want to applique! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! I like the dotty background which initially surprised me. I thought the solid would be more folk-arty, but it wasn’t at all. You should try applique – it’s surprisingly relaxing, even for hyper people like myself!

      Like

What do you think?

