My Man Quilt

Man Quilt on the Wall Before Borders

I finally finished my latest quilt.  My husband loved it and even commented that it looked a little bit masculine, “Not at all like what you usually do.”  Since he’s been the recipient of quilts that I thought were “man quilts,” I wasn’t so sure how to take that.

This quilt is for a guy, though, so his comment made me happy.  The pattern is “Jelly Roll Junction” by Heather Mulder Peterson.  All the patterns in her little book On a Roll are kind of girlie, so woo hoo – I morphed one into a guy quilt, and I used all fabric that I already owned.  Except, of course, for the border.

It ended up being huge.  I don’t know why I keep making these big, giant quilts that I get bored with as soon as I get half the blocks put together and I can see what it’s going to look like.  Then, I have to put a border on, or three in this case, and wrestle the entire thing through my machine numerous times.

Live and learn I guess.  My next few quilts will, hopefully, be somewhat more manageable.  I’m thinking wall hangings or the ever useful, table runner.

Giant Man Quilt After Adding Borders
What do you think?

