5 Things I Learned from my Dad

As a parent, I like to think that my kids will take my always insightful, wise, and relevant advice to heart when they’re making any sort of decision for themselves.  How could they not?

I know the answer to that question because I am also a daughter who listened to my parents’ insightful, wise, and relevant advice, well, as much as my kids listen to mine.  This means I listened when, for better or for worse, their advice aligned with what I had already decided for myself.  I, like my parents in front of me and my kids behind me, had to figure things out all by myself while my parents watched from the sidelines, hoping that I’d listened just enough to be okay.  Thankfully I did, or at least I think I turned out alright.

Today, I’d like to say thanks to my Dad for offering advice and teaching me even when I didn’t listen, so Dadd-o this one’s for you.  No new BBQ cookbooks or Home Depot gift cards for you this year.  You get something even better, a blog post!   Cheers!

1) After my first blog post, my Dad commented and informed me that I come from a long line of writers beginning with my great, great, great grandmother whose Oregon Trail diary was published by the Oregon Historical society.  Good to know writing is “in my blood.”  He’s also read and commented or emailed me on almost every post since.  It’s nice to know that somebody out there is reading this.  Even if sometimes it’s drivel, my Dad reads every post and believes in me as a writer.

2)  Between reading my posts, my dad surfs the net and reads all kinds of conservative bloggers and websites.  He’s a conservative republican, which he constantly reminds me through article links and jokes.  I am a Democrat.  He loves me anyway, even when I entertain myself pushing all his conservative little buttons. That’s nice to know.

3)   Just about every night since I can remember I have read before falling asleep, even if its just a page or two.  My Dad always did too and passed on is love of books to me.  When I was eight, he installed a reading light into the wall above my bed, so I could read until the wee hours if I felt like it.  While my mom tackled the classics and introduced me to Pride and Prejudice and Anne of Green Gables, he  introduced me to Stephen King, Robert Ludlum, and thrillers.   I’m not sure that I have been able to pass on our love of books to my children, but I haven’t given up hope yet.

4)  As a kid, my dad dragged us to church just about every weekend.   In the summer he almost always followed up church with a trip to the beach for the afternoon.  I didn’t always love going to church and I would say now that we’re in different places spiritually, but I’m thankful he introduced me to God.  I’ve learned that God is pretty good to know.

5) Before I got married, my dad presented me with a gift.  He wrote a lengthy piece on everything he wished he had known before he first got married to my Mom.  He learned these lessons from his own parents and their 50 year marriage,  his failed marriage to my mom, and his successful marriage to the love of his life, my stepmom.  I didn’t understand some of his wisdom at 24 when Gary and I tied the knot, but after 17 years of marriage myself, I’m starting to get it.  This is one of the best gifts I’ve ever recieved.  I’m old enough to finally appreciate it and learn from it.

Obviously, I’ve learned many more than five things from my Dad, but this is a blog, not a memoir.  I’ll stop here.  Happy Father’s Day Dad-o.

6 thoughts on “5 Things I Learned from my Dad

  1. I think this is one of the best presents you could give a dad who loves the written word! And how cool that your grandmother’s diary was published by the Historical Society!

    Like

    1. Thank you! It was a great gift and fun to write. As for my grandmother, she’s definitely coming through in the historical part of my novel. In my research, I’ve found her diary quoted all over the place – its kind of cool!

      Like

  2. Thanks for 17 years of great marriage. You have 100% of my support in your new endevour. Stay focussed and have fun.

    Like

What do you think?

