Home » creativity » Home Sweet Home

Home Sweet Home

A close-up of the center applique panel. I love how it looks with the scrappy blocks.

Between hockey tournaments, track meets, Speech and Debate tournaments, my sister trip, and various family commitments, I have been home for a grand total of three weekends since the beginning of February. My life has been ridiculously busy and while it has been fun, I haven’t had a whole lot of quilting or writing time.

Normally, we’d do something fun and go camping on Memorial Day weekend, but this year, it was prom weekend and with two kids in high school, we got to stay home!! I was soo happy!!

It was all about the hair, the clothes, and the dates . . . until they left. Then, it was all about actually finishing a quilt top and parking my butt in a chair with my lap top and writing. I actually got to say hi to my husband too. It made for a great holiday weekend.

I finished the center of this quilt applique on a road trip a few weeks ago, and I had finished all of the blocks last fall. I finally got all the sashing in and the whole center put together a week or so ago.  At that point, I discovered that I not only didn’t have enough fabric, but that I had cut the selvage off of the fabric I did have and I had no idea how to get more. Thankfully, a brilliant woman in a Reno quilt shop (I was on another trip to another sporting event) identified it correctly, so I could order some. The only place I could find any was from a quilt shop somewhere in Minnesota – thank God for the internet!

No borders yet!

I could have left it without borders, but I wanted it a little bit bigger. I also wanted the blocks to “float” a little more in the quilt’s center. Happily, the fabric arrived on Friday, just in time for my three whole days at home. I got the borders on this morning, and I like how it looks.

Now, it just needs some quilting, and it can go on the bed. One UFO down, nine to go!

11 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Wow! Drop-dead gorgeous, Amy! I, too, like the “float” of the blocks and the colorful interplay of the center and the blocks. What a spectacular quilt top!
    I am working away on my grandson’s quilt. I told each of them that whenever they were ready I would make them a quilt. My granddaughter (24) was ready for hers last year and she wanted a modified courthouse steps pattern, all done in greens. Now her brother (25) is ready for his and chose a french braid pattern but one where the “intersections” showed up, all done in blues. It took me quite a while to figure out how to make it look right but I have it dialed in now. They both live and work in Washington, D.C., though she will start med school at GW University in August. Seems just a few months ago that we were back at our son’s home in Andover, MA, watching them get ready for proms, then graduations. They grow up so fast!

    Do you do Pinterest? I have posted pictures there.

    • Thanks so much! I am on Pinterest and I got a little notification thing that you pinned my quilt – thanks! I’ll go check out your quilts too. I’m not on it too much as its kind of a time suck if I do get on it.

      Its crazy how fast the kids grow up. I remember being so excited when they could buckle their own seat belts and now they just drive themselves. Its fun watching them grow up though and seeing what kind of people they are becoming.

    • I just checked out the quilts. I LOVE the blue french braid. The gals in my quilting group made those last year (I passed on that one due to lack of time as I’m the only one who works full time), but they all turned out really pretty. It’s a neat pattern to really play with color. Your courthouse step on cracked me up – I made a similar one for my sister for my second quilt ever.

    • Thanks! I’m really pleased with it. It’s off to the quilter tomorrow and she is a true artist. I’m excited to see what she does with it because I’m sure it will be amazing.

    • I agree that it needed the borders. If I couldn’t have found the fabric, I think it was fine without the borders, but in this quilt, they really finish it off. Thanks for your comment!

What do you think?

